ABOUT

“Why should the opportunity gap matter for those of us on its lucky side? The answer is that the destiny of poor kids in America has broad implications for our economy, our democracy and our values.” — Robert D. Putnam
Our Story

Tickets for Kids Charities is dedicated to the equitable access of cultural resources for low-income and at-risk children.

Established in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1994, the inspiration for Tickets for Kids came to founder Susan Weiner during a ballgame. The empty seats in the auditorium seemed so wasteful, and so unnecessary. Couldn’t those seats be filled by the community’s disadvantaged kids?

A nearly identical idea occurred in 2000 to Robb Neuenschwander, Twin Cities resident and avid University of Minnesota Gopher basketball fan. Frustrated that so many game seats went unused, Robb founded Minneapolis-based Tix for Tots to fill those seats with kids and mentors who could use them.

Recognizing a shared vision and nearly identical missions, Tix for Tots was merged into Tickets for Kids in 2016.

Through partnerships with approved and vetted nonprofits serving disadvantaged kids and families, TFK has distributed more than 2.6 million tickets valued in excess of $51.3 million for experiences in arts & culture, education & STEM, sports & recreation, and family entertainment.

In 2016 alone, TFK distributed more than 160,000 tickets valued at over $5 million, and partnered with nonprofit organizations in 41 states.

Our Team
Jason J. Riley
Executive Director
412.745.5512
jason@ticketsforkids.org
Meryl Hellring
Development & Communications Director
412.745.5510
meryl@ticketsforkids.org
Carolyn L. Falk
Program Director
412.745.5501
carolyn@ticketsforkids.org
Betsy Tate Anderson
Regional Director, Twin Cities
612.695.8018
betsy@ticketsforkids.org
Barbara Steving
Regional Manager
412.745.5504
barbara@ticketsforkids.org
Chris Anderson
Ticket Relations Manager
412-745-5503
chris@ticketsforkids.org
Margaret Haselhoff
Development & Communications Coordinator
412.745.5502
margaret@ticketsforkids.org
Emily Wilant
Program Coordinator, Twin Cities
612.384.7419
emily@ticketsforkids.org
Dan Fang
Administrative Support Specialist
412.745.5508
dan@ticketsforkids.org
Anita Coates
Program Associate
412.745.5509
anita@ticketsforkids.org
Our Board
Bruce B. Weiner, Chair
Principal
Longboat Enterprises
Rob King, Vice Chair
Anchor/Reporter
ROOT Sports
Debra Alward
Principal
Alward Executive Advisory
Jason Fulvi, CDME
Executive Vice President
Visit Pittsburgh
Daniel J. Griffin
General Manager
Oxford Athletic Club
Jeff Mallory
Director of Multicultural Affairs
Duquesne University
Robb Neuenschwander
Senior Director, Enterprise Architecture
Medica Health Plans
Michael Pindell
Senior Vice President
Huntington National Bank
Noah Rouen
President
The Rouen Group
Jill Schlofer
Senior Director, Field Service
Standard Insurance Company
Fran Steger
BNY Mellon
Retired
Beth Wainwright
Leadership Pittsburgh
Retired