TFK Logo

ABOUT

“Why should the opportunity gap matter for those of us on its lucky side? The answer is that the destiny of poor kids in America has broad implications for our economy, our democracy and our values.” — Robert D. Putnam
Our Story

Established in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1994, the inspiration for Tickets for Kids came to founder Susan Weiner during a ballgame. The empty seats seemed so wasteful, and so unnecessary. Couldn’t those seats be filled by the community’s disadvantaged kids?

A nearly identical idea occurred in 2000 to Robb Neuenschwander, Twin Cities resident and avid University of Minnesota Gophers basketball fan. Frustrated that so many game seats went unused, Robb founded Minneapolis-based Tix for Tots to fill those seats with kids and mentors who could use them.

Recognizing a shared vision and nearly identical missions, Tix for Tots was merged into Tickets for Kids in 2016.

Through partnerships with approved and vetted nonprofits serving disadvantaged kids and families, TFK has distributed more than 2.8 million tickets valued in excess of $58.2 million for experiences in arts & culture, education & STEM, sports & recreation, and family entertainment.

In 2017 alone, TFK distributed more than 220,000 tickets valued at over $6.6 million and partnered with nonprofit organizations in 40 states.

Our Team
Jason Riley
Jason J. Riley
Executive Director
412.745.5512
jason@ticketsforkids.org
Meryl Hellring
Meryl Hellring
Development & Communications Director
412.745.5510
meryl@ticketsforkids.org
Carolyn Falk
Carolyn L. Falk
Program Director & Accessibility Coordinator
412.745.5501
carolyn@ticketsforkids.org
Susan Murray
Susan Murray
Regional Director, Twin Cities
612.695.8018
susan@ticketsforkids.org
Barbara Steving
Barbara Steving
Regional Manager
412.745.5504
barbara@ticketsforkids.org
Chris Anderson
Chris Anderson
Ticket Relations Manager
412.745.5503
chris@ticketsforkids.org
Dan Fang
Dan Fang
Systems Analyst & Developer
412.745.5508
dan@ticketsforkids.org
Anita Coates
Anita Coates
Program Associate
412.745.5509
anita@ticketsforkids.org
Abeke Teyibo
Abeke Teyibo
Administrative Services Specialist
412.745.5502
abeke@ticketsforkids.org
Our Board
Rob King
Rob King, Chair
Anchor/Reporter
AT&T SportsNet
Robb Neuenschwander
Robb Neuenschwander, Vice-Chair
Senior Director, Enterprise Architecture
Medica Health Plans
Debra Alward
Debra Alward
Principal
Alward Executive Advisory
Elizabeth Colombo
Elizabeth Martin Colombo
Member
Eckert Seamans
Jason Fulvi
Jason Fulvi, CDME
Executive Vice President
Visit Pittsburgh
Jeff Funovits
Jeff Funovits
Campus Planning Director/Principal
Populous
Jeff Mallory
Jeff Mallory
Director, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
Deputy Coordinator, Title IX
Duquesne University
Mike Pindell
Michael Pindell
Senior Vice President
Huntington National Bank
Noah Rouen
Noah Rouen
President
The Rouen Group
Jill Schlofer
Jill Schlofer
Senior Director, Field Service
Standard Insurance Company
Fran Steger
Fran Steger
BNY Mellon
Retired
Beth Wainwright
Beth Wainwright
Leadership Pittsburgh
Retired
Bruce Weiner
Bruce B. Weiner
Principal
Longboat Enterprises